Published on 16 September 2026
MM120 lysergide in generalised anxiety disorder: what is a signal worth when blinding fails?
In brief
A phase 2b trial run at 22 US sites between August 2022 and August 2023 compared four single doses of MM120, a pharmaceutical form of lysergide, with placebo in 198 adults with generalised anxiety disorder. The primary outcome was a dose-response relationship on the Hamilton Anxiety Rating Scale at week 4, analysed with MCP-Mod, a pre-specified dose-selection procedure. Five of the six pre-specified models are significant. At 100 µg, the difference from placebo reaches −5.0 points (95% CI −9.6 to −0.4), and a signal remains measurable at week 12 after a single administration. The 25 and 50 µg doses do not separate from placebo. The limitation is structural, and the authors put figures on it themselves: 92.5% of participants receiving 100 µg report visual perceptual changes against 10.3% on placebo, and around 85% of participants on active treatment correctly identified their group, on an outcome that depends on what the participant reports. This is a dose-finding trial ahead of phase 3, and nine of the twelve named authors are employees of the sponsor.
The context
Generalised anxiety disorder sits uncomfortably in the consulting room. It is common, it lasts, and the pharmacological options have not changed in kind since the serotonergic antidepressants. The authors recall three framing facts: a twelve-month prevalence of around 10% among US adults, an inadequate response to first-line treatments in about half of patients, and no new drug approved for this indication in the United States since 2007. Many patients reach the consulting room already treated and partly improved. The question is then not which first line to choose, but what to offer next.
This is the space into which psychedelic development is moving. The compound assessed here, designated MM120, is lysergide tartrate, that is, a standardised pharmaceutical form of LSD, given as a single dose and not as daily treatment. The authors’ claim to priority is narrower than the coverage that followed would suggest: they write that this trial is the first to assess the dose-dependent efficacy of MM120 without concomitant psychotherapeutic intervention. They do not claim the first randomised controlled trial of lysergide in anxiety, and they point, on the contrary, to an earlier phase 2 trial combining LSD with psychotherapy, with a reduction in anxiety maintained for up to one year.
One practical constraint deserves mention from the outset: 84% of participants had to stop an ongoing treatment before enrolment, only 16% were treatment-naive, and 18% were in psychotherapy that continued during the trial. Among those who had to stop, 43% were taking a serotonin reuptake inhibitor, 34% a benzodiazepine and 19% an antipsychotic or an antiepileptic. The population analysed is therefore not a naive population, it is a population withdrawn from medication, which is not the same thing and does not compare in the same way with what is seen in the consulting room.
The mechanism
What the trial measures, and what it does not
This trial does not test a pathophysiological hypothesis, it looks for a dose. Lysergide is a serotonergic psychedelic, and the authors link the expected effect to agonism at the 5-HT2A receptor and to a sustained increase in neuroplasticity, while stating that the exact mechanism remains unknown. Two things need to be kept apart here. No biological marker, no imaging data and no pharmacokinetic analysis appear in the publication or its supplementary material. On the other hand, it would be wrong to say that no analysis of the link between the acute experience and response was planned: the statistical analysis plan lists among the exploratory outcomes a visual analogue scale of drug effects, the MEQ30 mystical experience questionnaire and the 5D-ASC altered states of consciousness scale, all assessed on the second day, as well as an analysis of blinding integrity and of the association between participants’ answers and the outcomes. The protocol even states that the choice of four dose levels is meant to help interpret the results in case of functional unblinding and to determine whether psychedelic effects are necessary for clinical benefit. These analyses therefore exist in the plan, they are not reported in this publication. This is an absence of reporting, not an absence of intent.
The study at a glance
| Population | |
| Adults aged 18 to 74 years with generalised anxiety disorder according to DSM-5, confirmed by the MINI, HAM-A score of 20 or more at screening and at baseline, mean baseline score of 29.3 to 31.0 depending on the arm. Recruitment in the United States only, 22 sites, 83.0% White participants, 56.7% women, mean age 41.3 years. 84% required prior medication withdrawal. | |
| Intervention | |
| MM120, lysergide tartrate, single oral dose of 25 µg, 50 µg, 100 µg or 200 µg freebase equivalent, given as eight capsules of identical appearance. | |
| Comparator | |
| Oral placebo, single dose, identical capsules. No active comparator, neither a serotonergic antidepressant nor a non-pharmacological comparator. | |
| Outcome | |
| Primary: dose-response relationship on the HAM-A score at week 4, tested with MCP-Mod across six pre-specified models. Key secondary: the same relationship at week 8. Other secondary outcomes: HAM-A at weeks 1, 2, 4, 8 and 12, MADRS, CGI-S, response and remission. Minimal clinically important difference set at 2.5 points. | |
| Design and numbers | |
| Phase 2b randomised controlled trial, multicentre, double-blind, five arms, 1:1:1:1:1 randomisation without stratification, from 24 August 2022 to 30 August 2023, last follow-up on 27 November 2023. 198 participants randomised, 194 in the full analysis set. Analyses by MCP-Mod and by analysis of covariance model, multiple imputation with 20 iterations. CEBM level of evidence 1b. |
Quality control
| Item checked | Judgement |
|---|---|
| Protocol and registration | Protocol and analysis plan published |
| FindingThe trial is registered as NCT05407064. The protocol, version 6.0 of 26 July 2023, and the statistical analysis plan, final version 1.0 of 1 August 2023, are published with the article. The registration date, and whether it preceded enrolment of the first participant, are not printed in the documents consulted. | |
| Pre-specified analysis plan | MCP-Mod pre-specified |
| FindingThe six dose-response models are defined in the statistical plan before the analysis. MCP-Mod is an established procedure for dose selection, which limits freedom of analysis after the fact. An addendum to the analysis plan, explicitly written after unblinding of the primary outcome, adds analyses of HAM-A subscores that the authors themselves describe as ad hoc; they are not reported here. | |
| Randomisation and allocation concealment | Central randomisation, identical capsules |
| FindingCentral randomisation through an interactive response system, 1:1:1:1:1, without stratification. MM120 and placebo capsules are packaged identically and each participant receives eight of them, the proportion of active capsules determining the dose. | |
| Maintenance of blinding | Documented, extensive unblinding |
| FindingBlinding integrity was a pre-specified exploratory outcome, measured on the second day with a five-point Likert scale. The authors report that around 85% of participants on active drug correctly identified their allocation and that more than 65% of participants on placebo did the same. Visual perceptual changes occur in 92.5% of participants at 100 µg and 100% at 200 µg, against 10.3% on placebo, and nausea in 40% and 60% against 7.7%. Detailed recognition rates by arm are not published in the documents consulted. | |
| Assessment of the primary outcome | Central raters, imperfect blinding |
| FindingThe HAM-A and MADRS are rated by telephone by independent central raters, blinded to the protocol, to allocation and to visit date. The authors state that central rater blinding was preserved in more than 80% of HAM-A assessments, which leaves up to about one assessment in five potentially compromised; this figure refers to a conference presentation, not to a peer-reviewed publication. The CGI-S, for its part, is rated by site assessors and not by the central raters. | |
| Missing data | Multiple imputation, uneven attrition |
| Finding194 of the 198 randomised participants enter the full analysis set, and an arm-by-arm recount shows that the four exclusions all come from the 50 µg arm (39, 36, 40, 40 and 39). Missing data on the primary outcome are handled by multiple imputation with 20 iterations, with placebo-based imputation for data missed because of prohibited treatment. The authors report a dropout rate that is similar across groups but slightly higher than in trials of related drugs. | |
| Trial reporting | CONSORT compliant |
| FindingThe report follows the CONSORT checklist. The journal publishes the work under its preliminary communication heading. | |
| Active comparator | Absent |
| FindingNo serotonergic antidepressant arm. The position of the compound relative to existing treatments is therefore not informed by this trial, and the comparison the authors offer with a meta-analysis of available treatments is indirect. | |
| Funding and competing interests | Sponsor in full control |
| FindingNine of the twelve named authors are employees of MindMed, the statistician is a paid consultant to the sponsor, the first author receives funding from MindMed among other sponsors and the last author declares research support from a very large number of companies including MindMed. The sponsor declares that it took part in the design, conduct, collection, analysis and interpretation of the data, in the preparation of the manuscript and in the decision to submit it. Medical writing was provided by paid contractors. | |
The findings
A word on the analysis method, because it governs how everything that follows should be read. MCP-Mod does not compare arms pairwise. The procedure first tests whether a relationship between dose and response exists, by confronting the data with several curve shapes defined in advance, six here, and then estimates the useful dose from the retained models. For the reader this means two things: the primary result concerns the existence of a slope, not the superiority of a particular dose, and strict control of type I error, ensured by a hierarchical gatekeeping procedure, covers only the primary outcome at week 4 and the key secondary outcome at week 8. The authors state explicitly that the other tests are not adjusted for multiple comparisons.
The primary outcome is met: at week 4, five of the six pre-specified dose-response models exceed the adjusted critical value of 2.032. At week 8, on the key secondary outcome, all six models exceed it. The curve is clear and instructive. The two low doses do not separate from placebo, with −1.2 points (95% CI −6.0 to 3.5) at 25 µg and −1.8 points (95% CI −7.6 to 4.0) at 50 µg. The two high doses do, with −5.0 points at 100 µg and −6.0 points at 200 µg. The minimum effective dose, defined as the one producing a 2.5-point difference from placebo, is estimated at between 56.7 and 85.1 µg, an estimate that remains surrounded by uncertainty since it is modelled and not measured.
The secondary analyses give higher figures than the model-based estimate, because they are based on observed cases without imputation. At week 4, the HAM-A reduction reaches −7.6 points at 100 µg (95% CI −11.8 to −3.4; p < 0.001; Cohen’s d 0.88) and −5.5 points at 200 µg (95% CI −9.7 to −1.3; p = 0.01; d = 0.64). The analysis cannot be more reserved than the data themselves on this point: a d of 0.88 is larger than the overall effect of 0.39 reported by the authors for available treatments for generalised anxiety disorder, an indirect comparison but one worth citing.
The trajectory is not monotonic, and that has to be said. At week 8, the secondary comparison at 100 µg does not reach the threshold (−4.3 points; 95% CI −8.9 to 0.3; p = 0.06), whereas the dose-response test remains significant. At week 12, the difference from placebo is −7.7 points at 100 µg (95% CI −12.6 to −2.8; p = 0.003; d = 0.81) and −7.4 points at 200 µg (95% CI −12.4 to −2.4; p = 0.004; d = 0.77). Response rates at week 12 are 65.0% at 100 µg and 62.5% at 200 µg against 30.8% on placebo, and remission rates 47.5%, 45.0% and 20.5%.
Two reservations follow. The upper bound of the confidence interval for the primary outcome at 100 µg comes close to zero, at −0.4: the imputed estimate is compatible with a difference below the 2.5-point threshold the authors themselves adopt, as much as with a substantial difference. And the direct comparison between the two high doses is not tested here. The authors nonetheless conclude that 200 µg comes with more frequent adverse events without any gain in efficacy, and they retain 100 µg as the optimal dose for phase 3: that is a descriptive reading of their curves, not the result of a test.
| Outcome | Reported value |
|---|---|
| Primary outcome, HAM-A dose-response at week 4 | 5 of the 6 pre-specified models significant. |
| ReadingThe test concerns the shape of the dose-response relationship, not a pairwise comparison between arms. Type I error is strictly controlled for this outcome and for the week 8 outcome. | |
| 100 µg versus placebo, week 4 | −5.0 points (95% CI −9.6 to −0.4). |
| ReadingEstimate from the imputed analysis, on a scale whose baseline score is around 30. A wide interval, whose upper bound falls below the 2.5-point threshold adopted by the authors. | |
| 200 µg versus placebo, week 4 | −6.0 points (95% CI −9.8 to −2.0). |
| ReadingAn interval that excludes zero, but no superiority demonstrated over the 100 µg dose, which is not tested against it. | |
| Secondary analysis at week 4, observed cases | 100 µg: −7.6 (p < 0.001; d = 0.88). 200 µg: −5.5 (p = 0.01; d = 0.64). |
| ReadingA substantial effect size, larger than the overall effect of 0.39 reported for existing treatments. Analysis without imputation and not protected against multiplicity. | |
| 25 µg and 50 µg | −1.2 (95% CI −6.0 to 3.5) and −1.8 (95% CI −7.6 to 4.0). |
| ReadingNo separation from placebo at the low doses. This does not demonstrate the absence of any effect at these doses, since the sample size was calculated for the dose-response test and not for a dose-by-dose comparison. | |
| Week 8, secondary analysis | 100 µg: −4.3 (95% CI −8.9 to 0.3; p = 0.06). 200 µg: −5.5 (p = 0.02). |
| ReadingA transient dip at the selected dose, which does not reach the threshold. The dose-response test at week 8 remains significant across all six models. | |
| Durability at week 12 | 100 µg: −7.7 (p = 0.003; d = 0.81). 200 µg: −7.4 (p = 0.004; d = 0.77). |
| ReadingA signal maintained twelve weeks after a single dose. This is the strongest argument in the trial, and it is also the one that calls for independent replication. | |
| Response and remission at week 12 | Response 65.0% and 62.5% against 30.8%. Remission 47.5% and 45.0% against 20.5%. |
| ReadingExploratory outcomes, with no hypothesis test reported. The placebo response rate, close to one third, is a reminder of the size of the non-specific response in this indication. | |
| MADRS | Significant improvement from weeks 1 to 12 at 100 µg and 200 µg. |
| ReadingAt week 12, the mean change reaches −18.7 points at 100 µg and −19.9 at 200 µg against −12.3 on placebo. A secondary outcome without correction for multiplicity, to be read as a consistent signal and not as a demonstration on mood. | |
| CGI-S | Significant improvement from the second day at 100 and 200 µg. |
| ReadingAn improvement seen on the second day coincides with the moment when unblinding is most likely, since the acute experience has just taken place. The CGI-S is moreover rated by site assessors, not by the central raters. | |
| Minimum effective dose | Estimated at between 56.7 and 85.1 µg. |
| ReadingA value derived from modelling, not from a dedicated arm. No dose within this range was given in the trial. | |
| Recognition of the treatment received | Around 85% on active drug, more than 65% on placebo. |
| ReadingThe central point of this analysis. Visual perceptual changes in 92.5% of participants at 100 µg and 100% at 200 µg, against 10.3% on placebo; nausea 40% and 60% against 7.7%. See the critical appraisal. | |
The tolerability profile is consistent with what is expected of the drug, and it is reported in detail; in the authors’ words, “The adverse events were consistent with the expected effects of MM120.” At least one adverse event occurs in 97.5% of participants at 100 µg and 100% at 200 µg, against 56.4% on placebo, and 98.5% of all events occur on the day of administration. Two severe events, both a feeling of intoxication, are reported and resolved by the end of the session. A single serious adverse event occurred, a hospitalisation for a panic attack in a participant in the 50 µg arm, 97 days after administration and judged unrelated to the drug. Five participants, that is 2.5%, left the trial because of an adverse event, two in each of the 25 and 50 µg arms and one in the 100 µg arm. Raised blood pressure is reported in 10% of participants at 100 and at 200 µg against none on placebo, in a population from which the protocol excluded any heart disease, any uncontrolled hypertension and any prolongation of the corrected QT interval. No suicidal behaviour was observed; two participants, one on 25 µg and one on placebo, reported suicidal ideation without intent or plan, both with a comparable or more severe history. Acute effects had resolved in more than 97% of participants twelve hours after dosing.
Critical appraisal
The problem with this trial is not its analysis, which is careful, nor its primary outcome, which is met. It is blinding, and the authors deserve credit for not hiding it: they measured recognition of the treatment received on the second day and they publish the pooled result. Around 85% of participants on active drug correctly identified their allocation, and more than 65% of participants on placebo did too. With 92.5% visual perceptual changes at 100 µg against 10.3% on placebo, and 40% nausea against 7.7%, this figure is not surprising. The outcome is an anxiety scale rated from an interview, and therefore dependent on what the participant reports, and the informed consent explicitly described the known effects of the drug. Confidence in the belief of having received an active treatment can, on its own, shift a score of this kind.
What this means, and what it does not mean, needs to be stated precisely. It is a threat to internal validity, not a demonstration that the effect is nil. A signal can be genuine and poorly protected at the same time. The authors put forward an argument to set it aside: since unblinding occurs at every dose and the two low doses show no efficacy, the difference observed at the high doses would not be attributable to unblinding. The argument is admissible, it is not conclusive, because the intensity of the acute experience rises with dose and so does the strength of the participant’s belief about allocation: what separates the high arms from the low arms is not only pharmacology, it is also the participant’s degree of certainty. The analyses that would settle the matter, the association between answers to the blinding questionnaire and the outcomes, and the MEQ30 and 5D-ASC data, are pre-specified in the analysis plan but absent from this publication. The figure on central rater blinding, preserved in more than 80% of assessments, refers for its part to a conference presentation and not to a published article.
This reservation is not specific to this trial: it runs through the whole of psychedelic research, where the drug announces itself (see our analyses of control group outcomes in psilocybin trials and of the EPIsoDE psilocybin trial), and the authors rightly point out that it also exists in other psychotropic classes. It calls for measures that have long been discussed: full publication of recognition rates by arm, an active comparator producing sensory effects, outcomes less dependent on participant report.
The second point is independence. Nine of the twelve named authors are employees of MindMed, the statistician is a paid consultant to the sponsor, the first author receives funding from MindMed among others, and the last author declares research support from a long list of companies including MindMed. The sponsor itself declares that it took part in every stage, up to the decision to submit. That does not make the data false, and the use of independent central raters and of a pre-specified analysis procedure limits the degrees of freedom. It does, however, shift the burden of proof: a result of this kind only becomes solid after replication by a team with no link to the development of the drug.
Then come the ordinary limitations of a phase 2b trial, which the journal itself signals by publishing the work under its preliminary communication heading. The sample is modest, the confidence intervals are wide, recruitment took place in a single country and the population is 83% White. Above all, it is heavily filtered: the protocol excluded any personal or first-degree family history of bipolar disorder or psychotic disorder, any lifetime history of post-traumatic stress disorder, psychiatric comorbidities considered likely to confound the results such as major depressive episode, obsessive-compulsive disorder or panic disorder, any substance use disorder within the previous twelve months, any significant suicide risk, as well as heart disease, uncontrolled hypertension and electrocardiogram abnormalities. On top of this comes the medication withdrawal imposed on 84% of participants. The trial patient is not the patient in the consulting room. Nor is there an active comparator, so nothing can be said about how this compound compares with a serotonergic antidepressant.
A final word on what the authors conclude. They do not present this work as a mere dose-selection exercise: they write that their results “support the dose-dependent efficacy of MM120 and inform the dose selection for phase 3 pivotal trials”, and they retain 100 µg as the optimal dose for the pivotal trials. That is a defensible reading of their data, it is also the reading of a sponsor preparing phase 3, and it deserves to be read as such.
| Domain | Risk of bias |
|---|---|
| Randomisation process | Central, concealment documented |
| FindingCentral randomisation through an interactive response system, 1:1:1:1:1 ratio, without stratification, capsules of identical appearance. Baseline scores are similar across arms, from 29.3 to 31.0. | |
| Deviations from intended interventions and blinding | Major threat |
| FindingAround 85% of participants on active drug and more than 65% of participants on placebo correctly identify their allocation. Perceptual effects in 92.5% of participants at 100 µg and 100% at 200 µg against 10.3% on placebo, nausea 40% and 60% against 7.7%. The domain cannot be judged at low risk. | |
| Missing data | Multiple imputation, uneven attrition |
| Finding194 of the 198 randomised analysed, pre-specified multiple imputation with 20 iterations. The four exclusions are concentrated in the 50 µg arm. The authors report a dropout rate slightly higher than in comparable trials. | |
| Measurement of the outcome | Subjective outcome |
| FindingThe HAM-A depends on participant report. Independent central rating reduces observer bias without removing it, since rater blinding is preserved only in more than 80% of assessments, and it does not offset unblinding in the participant. | |
| Selection of the reported result | Pre-specified analysis |
| FindingMCP-Mod and its six models are defined before the analysis, the protocol and statistical plan are published, the trial is registered. An addendum to the analysis plan, written after unblinding and described as ad hoc by the authors, concerns subscores not reported here. Several pre-specified exploratory outcomes, including the analysis of blinding integrity, are not reported. | |
| Independence from the sponsor | Full industry control |
| FindingNine of the twelve named authors employed by the sponsor, statistician a paid consultant, sponsor involved from design to the decision to submit. Independent replication needed. | |
| External validity | Highly selected population |
| FindingUS recruitment at 22 sites, 83% White participants, exclusion of the main psychiatric and cardiovascular comorbidities, 84% of participants withdrawn from their treatment before enrolment, no active comparator. | |
Level of evidence
The formal level of evidence is that of a single randomised controlled trial, CEBM 1b, published by the journal under its preliminary communication heading. Confidence is high on one point: there is a relationship between the dose given and the anxiety score at four weeks, and that relationship was tested according to a plan defined in advance, with strict control of type I error. It is also high for the description of immediate tolerability, which is detailed and consistent with what is expected of a psychedelic. It is low on what matters most for practice: attribution of the improvement to the compound itself rather than to the participant’s knowledge of it, a question the authors document but do not resolve; the true size of the effect, whose estimates range from −5.0 to −7.6 points at week 4 depending on the analysis; and transferability to patients outside the United States, European patients for example, who have not been withdrawn from treatment and often have comorbidities. The sponsor’s full control of the trial does not disqualify the results, it postpones their consolidation to an independent replication.
The colleague test
What an experienced colleague would say if you put this study to them in two minutes, between two consultations.
“ Nothing to change for now. This is a phase 2b trial, a dose-finding step before phase 3, and when 85% of patients know what they received I do not know what an anxiety score filled in under those conditions is worth. No active comparator either, so I do not know how it sits against what I already prescribe. That said, a response maintained at three months after a single dose deserves to be followed. I am waiting for phase 3. ”
What this means in practice: this trial should be read as surveillance data and not as prescribing data. It is worth knowing because patients will hear about it, and because the methodological question it raises will come back with every psychedelic trial published in the coming years.
What you can do with this
- What you can tell a patient who asks: development of this compound is at an early stage, the trial analysed here is a dose-finding study ahead of phase 3, and the publication does not document any access to it outside the trial setting.
- What you take from the result: a real signal on the primary outcome, unusual durability after a single dose, response rates of 65% against 31% on placebo at three months, and a primary estimate whose confidence interval falls below the threshold of clinical relevance adopted by the authors.
- What you take from the method: when around 85% of participants on active drug know they received it, double blinding becomes a hypothesis and not a given. That is the first reflex to have with any psychedelic trial, including in other indications.
- What you watch for: full publication of the blinding data and of their association with the outcomes, the arrival of an active comparator, and the phase 3 results announced by the sponsor.
- What you do not conclude: a threat to internal validity is not evidence that the effect is nil. The right stance is to wait, not to reject.
- The course of action is set out in the NICE decision tree for generalised anxiety and panic disorder.
Frequently asked questions
Does the MM120 lysergide trial change the treatment of generalised anxiety disorder?
No. The trial is a phase 2b study, the dose-finding stage before phase 3 pivotal trials, and no active comparator allows the compound to be placed relative to available treatments. What changes is what you know about the development under way.
Does functional unblinding mean the LSD trial result is false?
No, and that confusion should be avoided. It means the trial cannot distinguish the share of the effect due to the compound from the share due to the participant’s expectation. The authors object that the low doses, which also produce perceptible effects, showed no efficacy. The objection is admissible but incomplete, since certainty of having received the active drug also rises with dose. The result may be genuine. It is simply not protected against this competing explanation.
Why did the 25 µg and 50 µg doses of MM120 not work?
They do not separate from placebo in this trial, with −1.2 and −1.8 points at week 4 and intervals that cross zero, which is not the same as the absence of any effect: the sample size was calculated to detect a dose-response relationship, not to decide dose by dose. Modelling places the minimum effective dose between 56.7 and 85.1 µg, but no dose in this range was given.
Is an effect lasting twelve weeks after a single dose of lysergide credible?
It is the most interesting result of the trial and the one that calls for the most caution. It is reported with low p values and substantial effect sizes, but it rests on the same subjective measure and the same population as the primary outcome, with the same uncertainty about blinding, and the curve is not smooth since the comparison at 100 µg does not reach the threshold at week 8. Independent replication is what would allow it to be regarded as established.
How much do sponsor conflicts of interest matter when reading this trial?
They matter as a weighting factor, not as grounds for disqualification. Nine of the twelve named authors are employees of the sponsor, the statistician is a paid consultant to it and the sponsor declares that it was involved at every stage, up to the decision to submit. Pre-specification of the analysis plan and independent central rating narrow the room for interpretation, without replacing a replication conducted by a team with no link to the drug.
Annotated bibliography
Source study. Robison R, Barrow R, Conant C, et al. Single Treatment With MM120 (Lysergide) in Generalized Anxiety Disorder: A Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA 2025;334(15):1358-1372. Published online on 4 September 2025, under the preliminary communication heading. DOI 10.1001/jama.2025.13481. PMID 40906494. The full byline is not printed in the documents consulted, which carry the mention et al.; the contribution and competing interest sections name twelve authors: Robison, Barrow, Conant, Foster, Freedman, Jacobsen, Jemison, Karas, Karlin, Solomon, Halpern Wernli and Fava. Trial registered as NCT05407064; protocol version 6.0 of 26 July 2023 and statistical analysis plan version 1.0 of 1 August 2023 published with the article. Funding: study funded by Mind Medicine (MindMed) Inc, which also supplied the drug; the sponsor declares that it took part in the design and conduct of the study, in the collection, management, analysis and interpretation of the data, in the preparation, review and approval of the manuscript, and in the decision to submit it. Writing assistance was provided by paid contractors. Competing interests: nine of the twelve named authors declare that they are employees of MindMed, several of them holding shares and patents assigned to the company; one author is a paid consultant to MindMed; the first author, employed by Cedar Clinical Research, declares grants from Janssen Neuroscience, Beckley Psytech, MindMed, Usona Institute and Compass Pathways; the last author declares research support from a very large number of companies, including MindMed, as well as royalties and patents. What the document contributes: the first set of controlled dose-response data on pharmaceutical lysergide in generalised anxiety disorder without concomitant psychotherapy, with a pre-specified dose-selection procedure, twelve weeks of follow-up and a detailed tolerability profile. What it does not allow: conclusions about attribution of the effect, since the blinding data show extensive recognition of the treatment received and the analyses that would link it to the outcomes are not reported, nor placing the compound relative to existing treatments, for want of an active comparator.
No other reference is cited in this analysis: it rests on the source publication alone and on its supplementary material.
